Traits of Sensitive People

Whilst doing a spot of cleaning the other day a book, I had read some ago and had the intention of writing a post about, fell open on the floor. The book in question is ‘Quiet’, by Susan Cain and it is her research and findings about the introverts of the world, famous and not so. It is a book I highly recommend to all you Empaths out there, as it gives a fair few ‘aha’ moments for many of our traits. It explains, for example, such subjects as to why introverts have the tendency to lose their short-term memory when overstimulated or by being put on ‘the spot.’

Anyway, getting back to what I was saying: I picked up said book and found it wedged open on page 136, which I duly read.  Page 136 makes reference to traits of highly sensitive people as compiled by Dr. Elaine Aron, a research psychologist. This list will probably be of interest to the introvert Empaths of the world and gives a physiological basis for the traits of Sensitivity…

Whilst researching the inner behaviour of sensitive people, especially those who did not like to be in social situations, Dr Aron found out some fascinating tendencies. She interviewed 39 people who described themselves as being either introverted or easily overwhelmed by external stimulation and asked them many varied questions, such as their film preferences, creative activities, relationships with family and friends, philosophical and religious views. Based on these interviews and further research she came up with a compilation of 27 attributes of the ‘highly sensitive person’.

Here is a sampling of some of those attributes… see if you can lay claim to any, if not all of them (it is interesting to note that this list has some similarities to my 30 Traits of an Empath):

  • Highly sensitive people tend to be keen observers who look before they leap.
  • They arrange their lives in ways that limit surprises.
  • Sensitive to sights, sounds, smells, pain, and stimulants such as coffee.
  • Have difficulty when being observed or judged for general worthiness.
  • Tendency to be philosophical or spiritual in their orientation, rather than being materialistic.
  • Dislike being engaged in small talk.
  • Describe themselves as being creative or intuitive.
  • Dream vividly and have good dream recall.
  • Love music, art, nature and physical beauty.
  • Feel exceptionally strong emotions, such as acute bouts of joy, sorrow, melancholy and fear.
  • Process information about their environments, both physical and emotional, very deeply.
  • Notice subtleties: such as another person’s shift in mood or a light bulb burning too brightly.
  • Tend to have unusually strong consciences.
  • Dislike or avoid violent films and TV shows.
  • Acutely aware of the consequences of their own behaviour.
  • In social settings they often focus on subjects like the personal problems of others.

Through Aron’s (and other scientists) research, it has been found that the amygdala (a part of the brain which plays a huge part in processing emotions) becomes strongly activated in highly sensitive people, far more so than those not of a sensitive nature, when exposed to other human suffering or pain (picking up their emotions), even just being shown pictures of people in pain is enough to trigger this response. Because of this, highly sensitive people have no choice but to feel what others feel.

Aron also found that most introverts, but not all, are highly sensitive…or in other words they’re Empaths!

To find if you are an introvert, and what type click here to take the Briggs Meyers personality test.

Here is another post which may be of interest on getting over-stimulated

Hope all is really good in your world…

If you have found my work to be helpful please consider donating here

©Diane Kathrine at Empaths Empowered

Also posted on Awakening People

Never Miss A Post! Join Thousands of Others on This Amazing Journey of Transformation!

Click the Follow Button on the Right Side-Bar Above⇑


20 thoughts on “Traits of Sensitive People

  1. Pingback: Signs you are an Empath – Site Title

  2. Pingback: DIANE KATHERINE: “6 Reasons Empaths Freeze Around Inauthentic People” | Dreaming With Dolphins

  3. Pingback: DIANE KATHERINE: “6 Reasons Empaths Freeze Around Inauthentic People” | Ascension Avatar

  4. INFJ I’ve “known” I am an introvert empath for ages – even said it out loud yesterday but until this web site – was not Awake about it- If that makes any sense. It was a real light bulb moment, Thank You

  5. Pingback: 6 Reasons Empaths Freeze Around Inauthentic People – Awareness Act

  6. Pingback: 6 Reasons Empaths Freeze Around Inauthentic People | Free Books Zone

  7. Pingback: At A Glance: 30 Traits of an Empath | Reiki With Friends

  8. Pingback: 6 Reasons Empaths Freeze Around Inauthentic People - Eye Opening Info | Eye Opening Info

  9. Pingback: 6 Reasons Empaths Freeze Around Inauthentic People - Awakenists

  10. Pingback: 6 Reasons Empaths Freeze Around Inauthentic People - BBN News

  11. Thank you for being you & helping all of us with your wisdom! I scroll through your blog soaking up all your priceless info! I found ” “Quite Revolution ” on your reference & it has given me some amazing ah-ha moments as well! 😁

  12. I’m a HSP, and an empath. My family, and I are moving from Atlanta to NZ in less than 10 days. It’s been crazy, and eventhough I’ve put on a good face, I feel like I’m completely shutting myself off from feeling it. I feel numb, and somehow shut myself off from feeling what’s really happening. Saying goodbye to my home, my friends, family, I suspect I should feel emotional, sad, but instead I’ve gone into autopilot mode.

    I imagine it’s a self defense mechanism, but I’ll admit it’s scary, and I wonder how I’m gonna get out of this place I’ve found myself in. Anyone have this happen to them? How did you come out of it?

  13. Why are some people bullied all their lives and others are not? And what about this type of bullying called gangstalking? How do they single out certain people and bully them all the time?

  14. INFJ – but with slight/moderate preferences my type changes through life & is fluid depending on the situation I’m in, but I think this is the most accurate so far

    • INFJ also. When I first discovered this test, I was totally amazed by how accurately it described me. I have taken it again after several years, and while the values changed, I was still a definite INFJ. Good to be here!

  15. I really enjoy reading your posts. I am 50 years old. It wasn’t until I went through extensive yoga training and working with marma points, chakras, etc…that I started to understand what and why I was the way I am. That was over 12 years ago.
    I don’t really speak to others about this because they don’t understand or judge.
    Now, my 23 year old son is exhibiting similar traits and having a difficult time dealing with all the emotions that come and go daily. I shared one of your posts with him. He was receptive but felt is could apply to many people. To me, it’s the beginning of teaching him about himself. I wish someone could have told me sooner. Maybe I wouldn’t have suffered so much emotional stress over the years and questioned my sanity.
    Thank you for this great blog.

    • Aww, thank you. It’s always nice to hear others enjoy reading my posts.

      Your son is lucky to have you and your knowledge there for him (when he’s ready), which will surely make his journey less turbulent..

Leave a Reply

