Emotional Freedom…Can Tapping Clear Your Empath Emotions?

You may have read or seen a clip on YouTube about the emotional freedom technique (EFT) known as Tapping. The premise is by tapping certain acupressure/meridian points on the face and body it can help release blocked energy and suppressed emotions. It also helps with addictions, chronic pain, insomnia, anxiety and persistent thoughts.

The origins of Tapping lie in Eastern medicinal techniques such as acupuncture and acupressure, both of which use the body’s meridian points to aid in healing. It is claimed by tapping these points with your fingertips it activates the body’s own healing power.

Although many people trust in Tapping for its potential to release physical and emotional pain from the body and mind, I have not used the technique, other than the odd time, because it did not feel a fit for me. So I cannot lay claim to receiving the stated benefits. But after studying Ayurveda and yoga I know how powerful the energy lines of our body are for healing and restoring balance, and because of this I felt it an important subject to cover.

The repetitious practice of Tapping is meditative and any meditative practice is perfect for the Empath. I get the impression, like meditation, Tapping is a practice one has to build to see lasting benefits. I know some Empaths struggle with keeping up a meditation practice and this may be a good alternative for those who find it difficult. Anything that reduces the overwhelm of emotions endured by the Empath is worth trying. We are all different and we all know what works for one does not always work for another. We have to keep trying new ways to stay in balance and keep control of our thoughts and emotions so we can live happily and healthily in this world.

In the Tapping technique it is recommended to focus on any negative emotion you are feeling whilst tapping on specific meridian points, 5 to 7 times. But I feel when practicing any holistic technique we should use discernment and intuition to break the rules if and where needed. As Empaths we have to deal with our emotions as well as other people’s and we don’t always know which is which. We may simply need to break free from an emotion that has attached itself as opposed to clearing it from within. Bearing this in mind, whilst practicing the tapping technique, if you find focusing on your breath and keeping a clear mind works better than focusing on a reoccurring thought, I say go for it. If it feels right, it is right.

9 Main Tapping Points

  1. The karate chop part of the hand
  2. The top of the head
  3. At the top of the eye socket on the eyebrow (either eye)
  4. On the side of the eye socket
  5. Underneath the eye on the socket bone
  6. Underneath the nose
  7. Under the lip, the crease between the lip and the chin
  8. The collar bone (where a gentleman’s bowtie would sit)
  9. Underneath armpit (about a hand’s width from the armpit)

Start the round of Tapping by tapping the karate chop and repeating a positive mantra three times such as:

  • I release this pain from my energy field with love.
  • I release all emotional pain from my body.
  • I accept what I feel and I release it.
  • I allow myself to relax and feel absolute happiness.

Then, whilst tapping the other eight points, think about the person or thought that is making you feel emotionally unstable.

Example: whilst tapping the first point, the karate chop point on hard, repeat ‘I allow myself to relax and feel absolute happiness’ three times, then move round the following acupressure points and focus on what you are actually feeling, if you are feeling anger focus on that, if you are feeling rejected or jealous focus on that. Continue till the emotions subside.

Have a lovely weekend…

Until next time


Donations can be made here. Thank You for your kind support.

©Diane Kathrine at Empaths Empowered

Never Miss A Post! Join Thousands of Others on This Amazing Journey of Transformation!

Click The Follow Button On Right Side-Bar Above⇑


5 thoughts on “Emotional Freedom…Can Tapping Clear Your Empath Emotions?

  1. Great stuff, Diane. I saw her brother Nick at a Hay House “I Can Do It” seminar a couple years ago. He had 2,000 willing subjects taping away in the audience which was pretty interesting to witness. For myself, I kept an open mind. The weekend was more about the amazing experience as I continue my expansion, but was pleasantly surprised to find that an irritating pain on the side of my knee went away after a few tapping rounds. The real impact though was watching the volunteers he pulled on stage that had gone through significant emotional and physical trauma. You could see the release of palpable pain they had brought with them. Not 100% too be sure, but was definitely a great springboard for them to continue to release through this technique.
    It really does seem a little ridiculous, but it is spot on and super refreshing. I went through few rounds of tapping myself this morning!
    Thank you for such a fantastic post!

Leave a Reply

