5 Ways to Make Your Spirit Soar

dove-wallpaper-13After I wrote the post, ‘Surviving Christmas’, I decided I wanted try to put myself in the frame of mind where I could align with the more positive aspect of Christmas, without getting involved in the commercial side, and hopefully make December a much more enjoyable month.

Although I have not been keen on the festive season these past years, I still enjoyed a good Christmas film. I realize that some may see them as being cheesy or fake, but I find there is something magical and uplifting about Christmas films. For some reason, I feel emotionally uplifted and motivated to be a better person after watching one.

It was after watching the film, Scrooged with Bill Murray, earlier in the month that I questioned as to why I like the films, but don’t care much for the season. And then it came to me, Xmas films are never about the stress, the debt or overindulgence that Christmas creates, but about doing good for others, forgiveness, turning one’s life around or finding love. So, with this in mind I had a little think about how I could reclaim my Christmas spirit without following ‘standard protocol’ and this is what I came up with:

For the twelve days before Christmas I decided I would do five nice things each day for others. I am not talking about giving money or gifts, just doing little gestures that would hopefully make others feel better about themselves. I came up with some simple ways to do this that would not take much time or effort to do, but would hopefully have a big impact on those on the receiving end. All it took was to look for the good in others and share it with them. I did this either through post, email, on social media or in person.

Lifting others will serve in lifting you higher!

I cannot tell you how good, doing five nice things for others each day, has made me feel. It has literally made my spirit soar. It is so true that what you give you shall receive. I am not saying I have received lots of compliments and had others do nice things for me, I haven’t (I wasn’t doing it to get anything in return), however, the way I feel inside is simply amazing. I feel uplifted and exhilarated (just how we should feel at Christmas!) When we lift others, we will be lifted higher… fact! It is the best Christmas present I could have given myself! Needless to say this has been a lovely December, quite different from those in the past.

Why not try it yourself: for the next twelve days, or for twelve days after Xmas, set a pact to do five nice things for others each day, without anyone knowing you are doing it. I guarantee it will set you off for a great start to 2016!

Here are a handful of ideas to get you started:

  • Notice someone’s new outfit or hairstyle and compliment them on it.
  • Tell someone how much they mean to you in a note, email or in person.
  • Smile and engage someone you don’t know.
  • Let someone go in front of you in a queue.
  • Show your gratitude in words to anyone who has ever helped you.

Hope you all have the most amazing time…

‘Happy Christmas to all and to all a good night!’

‘God bless us, everyone!’





©Diane Kathrine at Empaths Empowered


Never Miss A Post! Join Thousands of Others on This Amazing Journey of Transformation!

Click The Follow Button On Right Side-Bar Above⇑


2 thoughts on “5 Ways to Make Your Spirit Soar

  1. I’ve been watching cheesy Christmas films too, one in particular “Christmas Spirit”. I loved the message about doing good and especially forgiveness. It’s amazing! I’ve had wonderful things happen after putting it into practice myself. I feel like this is the best Christmas ever, in the True Spirit of things. Christmas Blessings to all xxx

Leave a Reply

