Surviving Christmas: A Guide for Empaths & HSPs

tree_2As you may have already noticed, it is getting ever closer to that dreaded time of year… Christmas!

For some of you, Christmas may be a much enjoyed time that you look forward to. I wish I could make that claim. Unfortunately, for many reasons, the festive season is one my least favourite times of the year.

When I was a younger (child to mid-twenties), I used to love Christmas and everything it stood for. But as the years passed the month of December became harder and harder for me to cope with.

Without fail, every year, at the end of November or beginning of December, I would start to feel low. My energy dropped; I would feel like I was coming down with a bug, I would be tense or harassed and just feel plain awful. On around December 28th I would strangely go back to feeling better.

In my mind I would always find a reason for feeling so bad: being extra busy at work, having an incredibly busy social life, eating unhealthily, drinking too much alcohol, not having enough sunlight, not doing enough exercise etc.… And so, over the years I tried many different approaches to make December more bearable for me: I made changes to my diet, I exercised, stopped going out, stopped drinking, went on a sunshine break, but nothing changed. I came to dislike Christmas so much (for many reasons and not just because I felt bad) that I simply opted out of the whole thing! But still, there was no change in the way I felt.

And then it suddenly dawned on me… what I was feeling wasn’t ‘my stuff’ at all, but everyone else’s. I was feeling the Christmas madness! I was picking up on the combined stress and anxiety of the populace and it was making me feel ill and emotionally low.


I’m not sure why it took me so long to figure it out. If you think about it, at least one person in every household in the Western world will get stressed at some point over Christmas; it does not take much imagination to understand how that feels for the Empath or HSP.

My dislike of Christmas and ill feelings started back in my mid-twenties when I got my own hairdressing business. Up until that point I had enjoyed Christmas, but for the hairdresser, Christmas is a hectic and very stressful time (squeezing a year’s worth of clients into one month is no easy feat) and fitting in shopping and social events on top is just an extra load of stress. Because I was stressed, I started tuning into other people’s stress energy (instead of the excitement of those who love Christmas) and even after I left hairdressing, sold my business, got to grips with being an Empath, cleaned up my health and opted out of Christmas, I was still tuning into and attracting the same ‘stress energy’.  I quickly learnt that until I consciously unplugged from the ‘Christmas Madness’ and found ways to stay grounded, I would continue to feel low each year. And this is what I present to you in my guide to surviving Christmas…

Whether you love or loathe the festivities of December I hope to offer some fantastic ways to get you through it as peacefully and painlessly as possible.

Daily Grounding:

This may not seem like an unusual task, most Empaths have some kind of daily grounding ritual, but to stay out of Christmas stress we need to add something extra to it… childlike positivity. Yes, you read that right, adopting childlike excitement into your energy can protect you from stress energy.

You only have to cast your mind back to childhood to remember just how explosively exciting Christmas was. So, instead of unconsciously tuning into stress energy we can consciously centre our awareness on the electrifying exhilarating and uplifting energy we had from childhood. It is still part of us and we can still access it even if we don’t celebrate Christmas.

We have a choice where our energy and focus goes, being aware of that fact is essential to keeping our energy in the right place.

Carry Haematite or Other Protective Stone:

Haematite is both grounding and mirroring, and it will help protect you when in busy, stressed places (basically everywhere over the festive period). Keeping a piece with you at all times is a good way to shield yourself from unwanted energy. If you want to learn more about the benefits of Haematite see this post.

Eat Lots of Bright Coloured Food:

Oranges, lemons and limes, red apples, blueberries and bananas et cetera will help keep you protected and healthy over the silly season. Colour raises our mood and vibration, whether we gaze upon it or consume it. When we make a conscious effort to eat brightly coloured food, in the form of delicious fruit and veg, we will reap many benefits.

Christmas contributes to us eating poorly. Party food and alcohol carry little in the way of nutrients, and if we are picking up lots of stress energy our immune system can be compromised. By eating lots of lovely bright coloured foods it will ensure you will be getting lots of vitamins and enzymes which will help ward off colds and build your resilience.

Shake it Off:

If you get overwhelmed by too much stress energy a brilliant way to get rid of it is by shaking it off (it also works as a mini workout).

Start with each leg, give each a good shake, shake your bum and your torso, shake your arms and hands, blubber through your lips and wobble your cheeks, run your hands through your hair and give the scalp a good shake (I do not recommend shaking the head as a lot of tension is held in the neck and you may aggravate it).

Shaking works even better if you can do it in water (e.g. pool, Jacuzzi or sea), or when done to some uplifting funky music.

Shaking also works great if you pick up any anger energy.


Eating moderate amounts of chocolate is a perfect way for Sensitives to ground and recharge.

Many Empaths and HSPs are naturally drawn to chocolate. Their inner-knowing already knows of its benefits. However, not all chocolate is created equal, the darker the chocolate the better and if it is organic, perfect!

Dark chocolate is super healthy as long as it in not loaded with unrefined sugar. White refined sugar is inflammatory and can cause excess cortisol to be released into the body which can heighten uncomfortable emotions and stress (click here to learn more).

Opt for minimum 70% cocoa when choosing your chocolate fix.

Practice Gratitude:

Gratitude raises your spirits like nothing else. Christmas can cause overwhelm for the Sensitive and put them in a negative state of mind. Changing your mindset to one of gratitude works on many levels. Being grateful for what you already have in your life will bring in more things to be thankful for.

Look back over your year, what achievements/discoveries have you made? What did you do last year? Look for all the good things in your life and allow yourself to be truly grateful for them. You will be amazed at just how uplifting this is. It also works like chocolate and floods your system with feel good hormones.

You may also find these posts helpful:

9 Reasons to Eat More Chocolate, Guilt-Free



Until next time…


Donations can be made here. Thank You for your kind support.

©Diane Kathrine at Empaths Empowered

Never Miss A Post! Join Thousands of Others on This Amazing Journey of Transformation!

Click The Follow Button On Right Side-Bar Above⇑


7 thoughts on “Surviving Christmas: A Guide for Empaths & HSPs

  1. Pingback: EMPATHS-All about | Infinite Silver Linings

  2. I love your use of words.. I was super surprised when I checked my word press.. to find such a beautiful picture of a Christmas feeling. * I have come to really appreciate Christmas this year. I started early. November I decided I wanted to get all the gift giving aspect done. Now it’s nearly the end of November and I’m getting into some fun activities with my friend Rebecca who also has a blog on here, called Organic Living…. check her out..and she has two twins. They are over right now. We decorated cut out foam gingerbread houses, men/women, and trees today with glitter and stick on circles etc. we made Christmas bulb rice crispy balls, and organic chocolate balls…thanks to Rebecca. * I bought four play dough tubs today and my daughter Sally and the twins had an ever so blast. They wrapped their toy cars and ponies in the play dough, made ball down dresses as seen on youtube…. and treasure chests… and space ships and trucks… aw they have truly had a blast today. Thank you Universe for sure a beautiful afternoon so far…Maryann….. Doula… Family Loving….Miessence..organice facial care….rep. :O)

  3. Such a beautiful post, thank you for sharing this with us. It is true, we do tend to soak up other people’s energy and the silly thing about this is, the more we soak up, the more shattered we feel and we end up shrinking our own energy (rather than expanding, which would help us to regain control and stay centered again). I hope you will have a wonderful December ahead dearest one!

Leave a Reply

