10 Ways Empaths can Protect Themselves from Other People’s Energy

For the Empath, being out in public can be a traumatizing time that can leave one feeling floored and out of sorts. Simply nipping to the shops can mean we end up wearing someone else’s energy for the rest of the day; which isn’t such a bad thing if the energy is positive and highly charged. However, more often than not, it is the not-so-nice energy that clings to us and follows us home.


I have found that the best way to protect myself when out in public is by taking preëmptive measures as well as having a few tactics to pull out of the bag when needed. I am sharing here with you some that I have found to be the most effective:

  1. Salt: Most already know of the amazing healing properties of salt (see here). It clears negative energies and also helps protect you from absorbing them. Add it to you bath, use as a body scrub and include it in you diet. Chose unrefined organic salt. Pink Himalayan rock salt is best.
  2. Crystals: Crystals offer us protection from all sorts of negative energies. They can also protect us from electro-magnetic energy. Choose the ones you most resonate with. (read more)
  3. Yoga: A short daily practice is a powerful protective tool for the Empath. Amongst many other amazing benefits, yoga helps balance and build your energy body, which in turn acts as an invisible force field.
  4. Singing: Yes, this may seem bonkers but it works! Sound affects us on many levels energetically. Yogis have used sound for thousands of years (chanting/song) because they know the power of it. Singing raises your frequency, making negative energy bounce off. Try it when you feel an incoming energy storm and see how it changes your vibration.
  5. Mirrored Energy Ball of Light: Everyday, visualise yourself engulfed in a huge vibrant mirrored ball of protection. Do it before you plan to go out in public. Believe it is there and know it is protecting you from other’s energy.
  6. Avoid Caffeine: Any kind of stimulant leaves the Empath wide open energetically. Too much coffee, for example, can leave you vulnerable to other people’s energy.
  7. Breath-work: Certain breathing techniques can work wonders for energy protection, both pre and post exposure. (Read more)
  8. Essential Oils: The power of essential oils has been known through the ages. As well as their amazing healing qualities, essential oils can help build a powerful energetic armor (Read more). As with crystals, chose the oil to resonate most. (My favourites are lavender, basil and frankincense.)
  9. Close Your Eyes: (For obvious reasons, this should only be done when it is safe to do.) In noisy, highly charged places closing your eyes can protect you from so much of the wayward energies that you would normally find seeping into your energy field. It is doubly effective if you practice a breathing technique at the same time. When you open your eyes again, you will find those energies that had been previously pounding you, seem to bounce off.
  10. Balance Your Hormones: This is possibly the most important and most effective of all these techniques. And yes, this also applies to men. Your hormones are directly linked to your chakras (see here), meaning they affect both your physical and energetic bodies. If your hormones are out of whack you will not be able to balance your own energy, never mind that of others. My new Book ‘7 Secrets of the Sensitive‘ goes into depth on how you can easily balance your hormones and chakras and thus enjoy total transformation and harmony in your life. The book shows Empaths how to live happier, healthier lives and enables you to see this life for the amazing gift it really is…


Until next time..


15 Sept 2015

Donations can be made here. Thank You for your kind support.

©Diane Kathrine at Empaths Empowered

Never Miss A Post! Join Thousands of Others on This Amazing Journey of Transformation!

Click the Follow Button on the Right Side-Bar Above⇑


12 thoughts on “10 Ways Empaths can Protect Themselves from Other People’s Energy

  1. I am a very sensitive Empath and have discovered Black Tourmaline works excellent for me as an absorber of negative energy. If you decide to use crystals be sure to cleanse them weekly as they will absorb the negative energy you would have taken on yourself. I cleanse my Black Tourmaline simply by running under cold water for a few minutes. Try it and you will be rewarded. Crystal Blessing & Courage to All.

  2. One of my chores that I hate is grocery shopping. People always feel rushed and agitated just being there. They’re aggressive and they put off an energy that is angry and irritated. I have a huge line up of low tempo classical music on my phone. Before I even walk in the door and grab a cart, my earbuds are in and Ode to Joy is playing. It offers a remarkable shield for me.

  3. Thank you for this post. I have been doing large scale battle with bad energy and I need to scrub myself of all of the poison That I have absorbed. It is to the point where it is affecting my marriage and my day to day life. Winishi. If anyone has any other advice for my case please share. Bless you all and may you all be well. Much love.

  4. The Merkaba star shielding. I find no protection method works for me as I have so little faith, so full of fear & my aura is fragile & broken & I am terrible at visualising!😦 But the Merkaba star does the best job. You can find more info on YouTube

    Another powerful method is invoking the Christ Light. You simply say:
    “I invoke the Gold ray of Christ for my total protection” X3 times & then say it is done. Archangel Michael’s (this one is highly effective a lot of times for me): ask AA Michael to put his dark blue cloak of protection around you. Then imagine the cloak being placed on you, zip it up (or ask AA Michael’s angels to do this for you) from under your feet to your lower lip, & pull the hood over your head, covering your third-eye.
    Whatever you believe in & FEEL working is the best method for you right now.
    Please note we can always call on our guides & Angels to protect & guide us. They’ll ALWAYS do so no matter who asks but we must surrender to our highest good with harmlessness.

  5. Hi
    I just wanted to say the mirror ball of Light is fab. I use it at night too as I end up badly affected by my partner’s energies. Thank you for the info!

  6. Oh I love this, thank you!
    If I do my morning yoga the day is soooo much easier. And the mirror around me works really well.
    Very good tools.
    love and light!

Leave a Reply

