New Beginnings

 A Very Belated Happy New Year to You All

After checking the date of my last post I realise it has been a while since I last wrote. Having been kept incredibly busy working on other projects, I have not had much time to come over to ‘Just Be’, my little place in cyberspace, to write a post or even reply to comments. So thanks to all of you who have taken the time to respond to any questions posted.

As we power through 2014, I think it’s safe to say this year is very different; it feels good and incredibly powerful. I doubt many were sad to see the back of 2013, as it certainly wasn’t an easy year. The disappointment most felt when 21 December 2012 came and went without the predicated or expected fanfare, meant 2013 was entered with many people feeling lost, uncertain and let down… The flip side to that is it was the perfect setting for a release of the pre-conceived ideas, we may have had imbedded in regard to that ‘certain date’, which, in turn, led to a greater shift in consciousness.

For me, 2013 was a year of revelations, breakthroughs and realisations and because of this, I entered 2014 with an optimism I’d never before experienced. One of my biggest epiphanies came when I saw how liberating true acceptance is. I knew the importance of acceptance but never truly embodied it. My ‘aha moment’ came after I read a certain yoga article. I do not remember who the article was by but if referred to a yoga teacher’s explanation on how to change one’s practice. In brief, he explained: the moment one’s yoga practise will improve, exponentially, is when one accepts the body’s natural restrictions and limitations. This acceptance stops the mind (ego) fighting and or punishing the body for its perceived shortcomings. When I pondered this I realised this wasn’t just about yoga this applied to all of life, in that when we fully accept our so-called shortcomings we can stop doing battle with them and focus on our more positive attributes.

It’s only in the dark that we see the brightness of the light

We are all made up of light and dark and we all have a dark side that we don’t like to acknowledge and traits we’d rather not own up to: anger, fear, resentment, jealousy and insecurity, to name but a handful. Yet it’s though facing and accepting the dark within us that we become free of its hold.

I have spent much of my adult life trying to release or block inbuilt personality traits that I didn’t particularly like or felt were ‘bad’, through one technique or another. But I now realise, these traits are part of me and were put in place to contribute to my unique life experience and to help me learn valuable lessons. Without these personality traits and insecurities, I would not have become the person I am today and in their acceptance, I can finally feel grateful for all they have offered me. I now see how the darkness within served me in so many ways. Had I not feared the dark I would not have sought out the light.

From the onset of my awakening, I feel I was encouraged to deny the darkness within, seeing it as a bad thing. I tried so hard to release or ignore it, instead of trying to accept or balance it. There is a saying that we give power to that which we give attention to, but by ignoring something will not make it go away. Some of our so-called ‘negative’ personality traits came with the body, just like our physical attributes, and are there purposely for this life experience. Claiming full ownership of these ‘negative traits’ will give you much more power over them than denying them.

So, as I said at the beginning of the post, 2014 feels like it is the start of something very new and powerful. It’s as though we’ve come to the end of a project and are ready to start a new one. Last year was about completion, this year is about beginnings… for those who are ready. And I hope it has been and will continue to be the most amazing year for you all.

It had been my intention to write about an entirely different subject today but, yet again, I was taken off in another direction. Hopefully, I will get back soon to write about what I had initially intended.

Take care


©Diane Kathrine…Just Be

6 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. I love the way you speak, it’s allowing me to understand that I, need
    Help starting over,After so many years of pain and physical illness,
    My life feels empty! I so need spiritual guidance and peace of mind
    .so I have chosen to follow your guidelines,
    Thank you 😍

  2. Hi, I’m new to your blog and so happy I found you as I no longer feel alone in this world of non-empaths. I found myself isolating a lot in 2013 and doing a lot of soul searching to see what it is I truly want to do – still figuring that out with all my many interests. We will all get there together I’m sure.

    I love your point about people being disappointed about nothing happening on 12-21-2012 as the media led us to believe that it would be one defining moment as they always do. As a studier of many cultures, I never expected any one moment for 2012 but rather a gradual shift in the collective consciousness of the world which may explain the disarray of 2013 – we are all in a searching mode right now – we know what we have done in the past is not working and we know there needs to be a change but none of us are quite sure how this is going to happen yet. I believe that the next few years will see some major changes on that road. Therefore, I am hopeful that things will get better.

  3. It made my day to see your article! I have missed your writings and look forward to reading more of your thoughts. They truly resonate with me. Thank you! Namaste’

Leave a Reply

