Being an Empath

Today, I decided I was going to create a page about life as an Empath. It wasn’t until I sat down and started to write about an Empath’s traits that I remembered downloading an article on the subject in May, last year. I’m not even sure if, back then, I looked at it, but when I read it earlier I felt as though it could have been written specifically for me. It then crossed my mind that there must be hundreds of thousands of people struggling with the same condition (some may call it a gift but until you recognize how it affects you mentally and physically it can be a detrimental condition), unaware that the bewildering, emotional ups and downs they deal with on a daily basis are, mostly, not their own.

If you didn’t know already an Empath is someone who is hyper-sensitive to many things, but mainly emotions of others. They can pick up the feelings of another and take it on as their own.

An Empath can be feeling perfectly happy and relaxed one minute, then enter a public place and within seconds get feelings of: anger, sadness or anxiety wash over them that are coming from others. If unaware that they are empathic, they may believe the cause to be a phobia of public places, a dislike of shopping, or even people.

Many Empaths become reclusive because it’s easier to stay away from the stimuli than to deal with the bombardment of negative emotions they get when in public.

My being an Empath is not something I tend to share with others. In the past I’ve tried telling close friends but just ended up feeling frustrated with their inability to grasp the concept. When one has not experienced something first hand we don’t tend to understand it and as Empaths are not generally subject to discussion in common society, we are probably seen as being neurotic or out there instead of gifted, although it certainly won’t feel like a gift to many. Another reason I don’t tend to tell others of my abilities is because I don’t want them feeling uncomfortable around me. I’m sure they wouldn’t want to know that I can tell if they’re lying or know when what they’re saying was not what they were truly feeling or thinking.

Everyone who is an Empath will have different empathic abilities. The two most common being: Picking up on others emotions and feeling the energy of places. For example: you may walk into a crowded room and sense a heavy tension, even though everyone was smiling. Or on entering a friend’s new house (which was old, but new to them) you feel a negative vibe, as if something bad has happened there. What we are picking up on is residual energy. If the house was filled with arguments and angst the energy stays there. Likewise, when walking into a house that has been filled with happiness and love, to an Empath it can feel like the Sun is shining indoors.

I was once a bit of a Facebook addict, however, this is a site that causes me much discomfort, emotionally. Especially reading a post by a person who is declaring their happiness and stating how wonderful life is, when you know it’s quite the opposite for them. We can pick up on all the energies of the people connected to us on Facebook and it can be most overwhelming. I’m never quite sure why I keep going back… but then Empaths are prone to addiction (more about that in later posts).

The more in tune you become as an Empath the more you see the world for what it is. Reading newspapers becomes a challenge, especially the ones packed with lies, gossip and no real news. The TV can become unbearable, in particular any kind of programmes with violence or cruelty. Even watching reality-singing-shows will sadden you. Seeing them quash the dreams of young hopefuls (whose main ambition in life is to feel special) and humiliate them in the name of entertainment and money. I’m amazed how many people love watching the early stages of the shows, when many of the contestants are ridiculed by the judges for their lack of talent (even though they’ve already been through two prior auditions before they get to see the celebrity judges, unaware that they are only through for the comedy element), only to stop watching when it becomes about the real talent. To me, the early stages of the shows turn the audience (at home and in the studio) from individuals into a crowd with mob mentality, laughing and jeering at those whose only crime was a belief they had the talent to make it in the world of showbiz. Reminds me of days people were put in the stocks to be scoffed at.

So there we go, my first post on life as an Empath with many more to come.

Till next time…

6 thoughts on “Being an Empath

  1. I am loving what you’re doing here and all the help you’re offering to empaths. I discovered you yesterday when my friend Carol Burbank reblogged one of your posts. I couldn’t find a place to send you a private message, so am leaving this here. I am also an empath, and way back in 1994 I found something that changed my life, so much so that nearly 22 years later I am still working for the company. It’s a BioElectric Shield – here’s my personal story

    In the last several years I’ve reached out to Dr. Michael Smith and Douglas Eby, both of whom are also helping empaths tremendously. Both of them have tried the BioShield themselves, and either post a link to it on their websites, blogs or in newsletters and we happily send them commissions. I know your blog certainly doesn’t seem to be about making money – but many empaths and HSPs have found that combining empath tools And the BioElectric Shield’s balance and protection that they are able to turn their empathic abilities around and use it as a tool, no longer feeling like they’re powerless over it. I hope you’ll take a minute and check out the Shield and hopefully we can connect.

  2. Great blog:) I recently understood how much it affects me ,being an empath.
    Your blog gives me more details and also a different perceptive about who I am and how I can deal with it
    Thanks for writing it

Leave a Reply

